Drivers Passing School Buses In Delaware County Now Getting Caught
The Delaware County Sheriff's Office has a warning for drivers: with cameras on school buses now, you will receive a ticket if you pass a stopped school bus. Cameras have given police a means of catching drivers who violate the law of passing a school bus. Last month, two drivers in the Sidney Central School District who passed buses received citations. Sheriff Craig DuMond says not only is it illegal to pass a stopped school bus it also makes for a dangerous situation for students.
According to the New York State Governor's Traffic Safety Committee, "an estimated 50,000 motor vehicles illegally pass New York State school buses every day" and the penalty for passing a stopped school bus for first time offenders is a $250 to $400 fine, 5 points on your license, and/or possibly 30 days in jail.